Why you should consider birth photography.

You’re probably thinking:

Pictures? In the labor room. No thanks.

What about all the blood and stuff?

Why would I want pictures of sweaty, messy me?

I get it. Those were the first thoughts I had when I was preparing for the birth of my first child. I didn’t want to see all the stuff and I didn’t want my lady parts to be captured.

But you know what? I’m glad we have pictures. I’m able to look back and remember all the details, the emotions, and see it all unfold.

We were incredibly lucky the first time around when my friend, Nidia, offered to capture the experience for us. She drove in from Houston as soon as I was admitted to the hospital. She stuck it out with us in the labor room, even though her car barely got her there in one piece. And she gave us one of the best presents we could have asked for: pictures of all us before, during, and after the arrival of Olivia.
Fresh baby and Grandma

As we prepared for Trixie, I contacted every local photographer who’s website indicated they offered birth photography. I don’t remember how many I contacted but it was a good amount. And I only heard back from three. I met with and immediately connected with Jennifer from Mammarazi Photography and all that was left to do was wait.

Many of the images you see on this site come from her. She, much like Nidia, captured the story of labor and birth so well that I can easily relive each moment.

I hope the girls look back on these pictures and can see the beauty that comes from the sweat and tears of birth. It’s not like we can remember what our birth was like, but we can certainly see it through the eyes of someone who was there to capture the story.

When considering a photographer for your baby’s birth, the National Association of Professional Child Photographers suggests this:

Prepare a list of questions to ask during your initial consultation meeting.

These questions should include:

– How many births have you photographed?
– How many years have you been in business?
– What is your backup plan should you become ill when I go into labor?
– Are you registered as a business, and do you have liability insurance?
– Are you a member of any professional organizations?
– Do you have daycare arrangements for your own children when it’s time to have my baby?
– What happens if you miss my birth?
– What happens if I end up having a c-section?
– How much do your services cost?
– What is your privacy policy regarding images being posted online?
– Why did you chose to offer birth photography as a service?

They also suggest interviewing at least two photographers before deciding which photographer to hire. Make sure you review not only their birth portfolio, but their overall portfolio also.

Look for the following:

– Image quality – are the images in focus? Do the colors look right? Do the black and white images look good?
– Types of images – does the photographer’s portfolio appeal to you?
– Presentation of images – does the photographer present the images in a slideshow or in another way?

I had planned to record myself and my family at home and on the way to the birth center to catch all the craziness going on, but I was too focused on contractions. And Paul was too focused on me to remember. At least we remembered to call all the right people we needed. That right there is justification for the investment in photography. You don’t get that time back, and it happens so fast.

Excuse me while I go look at pictures and try not to get weepy that my little baby is almost a toddler.

**This post originally appeared at TheDoulaAmanda.com***

One comment

  1. Those are great tips for hiring a photographer in general. We don’t really have any pictures of James’ birth. And the student mid-wife took the pictures during Colin’s birth. I like some of them, but she had the flash on and covered it with her hand so a LOT of those photos are VERY red. 😐

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.